About Us


About Vermont Grass Farmers Association

We are dedicated to furthering the use of managed livestock grazing to create healthier soils, cleaner water and financially and personally sustainable farms.

Organizational goals include:
• Enhancing soil and water
• Building farmer‐to‐farmer connections
• Upholding the viability and resilience of Vermont’s livestock farms.

Each year, the VGFA elects a Board of Directors which manage the budget, oversee member activities and outreach, help organize the annual grazing and livestock conference, and represent grass-based livestock farmers at the state and regional level as Vermont’s Grazing Lands Partnership steering committee.

2020 Board of Directors:

President – Bruce Hennessey, Maple Wind Farm
Vice-President – Niko Horster, Shire Beef, Vershire
Treasurer – Steve Schubart, Grass Cattle Company
Secretary – Christine Lazor, Butterworks

Carol Degener, Brand Inflection
Emily Finnegan – 2020 Orleans County Natural Resources Conservation District
Matt Garcia, Taste for Good Farm/Dartmouth College
Liz Gleason, Vermont Housing & Conservation Board – VT Farm and Forest Viability Program
Ben Nottermann, Snug Valley Farm
Benneth Phelps, Dirt Capital Partners Farm

UVM Pasture Network Liaisons
Jenn Colby, Kimberly Hagen and Colene Reed

Executive Director – Meghan Sheradin – meghan[at]vtgrassfarmers.org